Our Leadership


Daniel SellenDr. Daniel Sellen
Director, The Joannah & Brian Lawson Centre for Child Nutrition (Lawson Centre)

Daniel Sellen is cross-appointed in three faculties at the University of Toronto and is a Professor of Anthropology, Nutritional Sciences, Global Health and Social and Behavioural Sciences.  He is also Senior Resident Scholar at the SickKids Centre for Global Child Health. He has served in many administrative roles at UofT, most recently as the inaugural Associate Dean of Research at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, and has a wealth of teaching, supervisory and academic mentoring experience.

An expert in child nutrition, human ecology and international health with over 25 years of experience leading cross-disciplinary studies of child and family nutrition security, Prof. Sellen has contributed to more than 70 original research articles published in peer reviewed scientific journals and books, and more than 280 invited lectures and presentations at academic institutions, organizations and scientific conferences. He has initiated or collaborated on research in a range of vulnerable communities in a dozen countries, including nomads in Tanzania, rural and urban low income families in Guatemala, Mexico, and Kenya, families living with HIV in Ghana and Kenya, adolescent mothers in Bangladesh, resettled refugees in Britain and America, and new Canadians.

Read Dr. Sellen’s Welcome Message


Executive Committee

Dean Trevor YoungDean Trevor Young
Chair, Lawson Centre Executive Committee

Faculty of Medicine Dean Trevor Young is the former chair of the Department of Psychiatry, Cameron Wilson Chair in Depression Studies at the University of Toronto, professor in the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology, and senior scientist at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH). Young is a clinician-scientist and maintains an active program of research on the molecular basis of mood disorders and their treatment, and how to apply these findings to a clinical setting. He is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, a senior fellow of Massey College, and a distinguished fellow of the American Psychiatric Association.




Dr. Mary L'AbbéDr. Mary R. L'Abbé
Chair, Department of Nutritional Sciences

Dr. Mary R. L'Abbé  is Department of Nutritional Sciences’ Earle W. McHenry professor and chair. She has research expertise aimed at improving nutrition communication to consumers, a nutritional policy as it relates to population health, chronic disease prevention, and the nutritional quality of the Canadian food supply. Her vast experience in government leadership and regulatory affairs, in the area of assessing population health impacts of food and nutrition policies and preparing national or international recommendations and guidelines, is critical to the Lawson Centre’s success.




Dr. Lynn WilsonDr. Lynn Wilson
Vice-Dean, Partnerships, Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Lynn Wilson is a full professor of the Department of Family & Community Medicine (DFCM) at the University of Toronto, one of the largest academic family medicine departments in the world. She has been a comprehensive family physician since 1986. Her special interests have included palliative care, addiction medicine, obstetrics, and global health. Dr. Wilson has co-led a number of provincial and national projects regarding substance abuse education for physicians and is the co-editor of two textbooks on addiction medicine.





Dr. David Tannenbaum
Interim Chair, Department of Family and Community Medicine

Dr. David Tannenbaum, Interim Chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine, is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto, and the Family Physician-in-Chief in the Ray D. Wolfe Department of Family Medicine at Sinai Health System. He has an active clinical practice and teaches residents and medical students in the Granovsky Gluskin Family Medicine Centre where he is also the lead physician of the Mount Sinai Academic Family Health Team, and he serves as Chair of the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine Postgraduate Board of Medical Assessors and Vice-Chair of the Ontario Health Technology Advisory Committee at Health Quality Ontario. Dr. Tannenbaum’s main academic interests include innovations in curriculum design and implementation in residency training. 




Professor Ronald CohnDr. Ronald Cohn
Chair, Department of Paediatrics

Dr. Ronald Cohn is a full professor and the Chair of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto. He is also the Chief of Paediatrics at The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), Senior Scientist at the SickKids Research Institute, the Inaugural Women’s Auxiliary Chair in Clinical and Metabolic Genetics and a professor in the U of T Department of Molecular Genetics. Professor Cohn’s research focuses on the biology of muscle regeneration as it relates to various inherited and acquired myopathic states with a particular interest in muscular dystrophies. 

Back to Top